Gun Crimes in
South Carolina


South Carolina is known to have laws that support the Second Amendment, allowing citizens the right to possess firearms. However, it is important to note that there are still laws in place that prohibit certain actions related to firearms. Each state has its own set of regulations, and the ongoing national debate on gun control can lead to confusion. If you are facing a weapons-related offense, it is crucial to understand your rights.

The Kent Law Firm, led by attorney Shaun Kent, can help. With years of experience, we are dedicated to fighting for our clients and ensuring that a criminal conviction does not negatively impact our clients futures future.

Felony Gun Charges in South Carolina

Felony gun crimes are considered severe offenses, and prosecutors take them very seriously. Some examples of felony gun crimes in South Carolina include:

  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
  • Possession by a person under 18 years of age
  • Possession of a stolen or altered weapon
  • Possession or use of a firearm during the commission of another felony, such as robbery with a deadly weapon.

Conviction of these crimes can result in significant prison time, ranging from 10 to 30 years. Assault and Battery of a High and Aggravated Nature, also known as Assault with a deadly weapon, is another example of a weapons-related felony. These types of offenses can lead to decades in state prison if convicted.

However, it is important to note that not all weapons-related charges result in a conviction, especially with the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

Misdemeanor Gun Charges

Unlawful possession is a common firearm offense and often occurs when a handgun is not properly stored in a vehicle. In South Carolina, it is legal to carry a handgun in a car only if it is placed in the console or glove box, or securely stored in the trunk, and you do not have a Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP).

A misdemeanor gun charge can result in up to one year in prison and a fine of $1,000.

Illegal Concealment of a Weapon

Another common misdemeanor charge is illegal concealment of a weapon, which occurs when a weapon is concealed without a CWP. Penalties for this offense can include a maximum 90-day jail sentence and a fine of $500.

Have you been charged with a Gun Crime?

If you’ve been accused or charged with a Gun Crime or any Felony Charge, of any degree, you may be facing serious and potentially life-changing charges.

It’s important you keep a clear head the best you can. It’s also imperative you do not say anything to law enforcement or make any statements before speaking with an experienced attorney.

We’re here to help. Contact our law firm at (803) 433-5368 for a confidential, free consultation. Our lawyers are experienced in handling criminal cases in South Carolina.